Nigeria’s 36 States, Their Governors & Slogans

Nigeria is comprised of 36 States and a Federal Capital Territory located in Abuja. In this article, a list of all Nigeria’s 36 States, their current governors, state capitals and slogans have been compiled.

Nigeria's 36 States, Their Governors & Slogans

As a Nigerian, it is important to have these information at your fingertips as you never can tell when and where you will be asked such. It might be a test of how well you know your country and it would be embarrassing if you were to respond in the negative.

Every State in Nigeria has a unique slogan that their people identify with and these slogans have come to shape how these States are perceived by both the citizens resident in them and everyone else in the country generally.

Slogans are given according to either landmarks, people’s way of life, or any other feature that distinctly distinguishes every State in the country from one another.

Please note that a slogan is not the same as a motto. While motto represents the general beliefs or ideals of a group, slogan is a catch phrase that promotes the particular qualities of a group and projects that group in a great light for others to see.

In Nigeria however, slogan and motto are used interchangeably so it would not be out of place to hear people refer to the slogans of the 36 States of the federation as their motto. Bear in mind that the motto of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress.


These are all the States in the country and their current governors and slogans.

Abia State

Capital: Umuahia
Governor: Okezie Victor Ikpeazu
Slogan: God’s own State

Adamawa State

Capital: Yola
Governor: Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri
Slogan: Highest Peak of the Nation

Akwa Ibom State

Capital: Uyo
Governor: Udom Gabriel Emmanuel
Slogan: Land of promise

Anambra State

Capital: Awka
Governor: Willie Mmaduaburochukwu Obiano
Slogan: Light of the nation

Bauchi State

Capital: Bauchi
Governor: Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed
Slogan: Pearl of Tourism

Bayelsa State

Capital: Yenagoa
Governor: Seriake Henry Dickson
Slogan: Glory of All Lands

Benue State

Capital: Makurdi
Governor: Samuel Iaoraer Ortom
Slogan: Food basket of the Nation

Borno State

Capital: Maiduguri
Governor: Babagana Umara Zulum
Slogan: Home of Peace

Cross River State

Capital: Calabar
Governor: Benedict Bengioushuye Ayade
Slogan: The People’s Paradise

Delta State

Capital: Asaba
Governor: Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa
Slogan: The Big Heart

Ebonyi State

Capital: Abakaliki
Governor: David Nweze Umahi
Slogan: Salt of the Nation

Edo State

Capital: Benin City
Governor: Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki
Slogan: Heart Beat of the Nation

Ekiti State

Capital: Ado-Ekiti
Governor: John Olukayode Fayemi
Slogan: Land of Honour and Integrity

Enugu State

Capital: Enugu
Governor: Ifeanyi Lawrence Ugwuanyi
Slogan: Coal City State

Gombe State

Capital: Gombe
Governor: Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya
Slogan: Jewel in the Savannah

Imo State

Capital: Owerri
Governor: Hope Uzodinma
Slogan: Eastern heartland

Jigawa State

Capital: Dutse
Governor: Mohammed Badaru Abubakar
Slogan: The New World

Kaduna State

Capital: Kaduna
Governor: Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai
Slogan: Centre of learning

Kano State 

Capital: Kano
Governor: Abdullahi Umar Ganduje
Slogan: Centre of Commerce

Katsina State

Capital: Katsina
Governor: Aminu Bello Masari
Slogan: Home of Hospitality

Kebbi State

Capital: Birnin Kebbi
Governor: Abubakar Atiku Bagudu
Slogan: Land of Equity

Kogi State

Capital: Lokoja
Governor: Yahaya Adoza Bello
Slogan: The Confluence State

Kwara State

Capital: Ilorin
Governor: Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq
Slogan: The State of Harmony

Lagos State

Capital: Ikeja
Governor: Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu
Slogan: Centre of Excellence

Nasarawa State

Capital: Lafia
Governor: Abdullahi Sule
Slogan: Home of Solid Minerals

Niger State

Capital: Minna
Governor: Abubakar Sani Bello
Slogan: The Power State

Ogun State

Capital: Abeokuta
Governor: Dapo Abiodun
Slogan: Gateway State

Ondo State

Capital: Akure
Governor: Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu
Slogan: Sunshine State

Osun State

Capital: Osogbo
Governor: Adegboyega Oyetola
Slogan: Land of Virtue

Oyo State

Capital: Ibadan
Governor: Oluwaseyi Abiodun Makinde
Slogan: Pace Setter State

Plateau State

Capital: Jos
Governor: Simon Bako Lalong
Slogan: Home of Peace and Tourism

Rivers State

Capital: Port Harcourt
Governor: Ezenwo Nyesom Wike
Slogan: Treasure Base of the Nation

Sokoto State

Capital: Sokoto
Governor: Aminu Waziri Tambuwal
Slogan: Seat of The Caliphate

Taraba State

Capital: Jalingo
Governor: Darius Dickson Ishaku
Slogan: Nature’s Gift to the Nation

Yobe State

Capital: Damaturu
Governor: Mai Mala Buni
Slogan: Pride of the Sahel

Zamfara State

Capital: Gusau
Governor: Bello Mohammed Batawalle
Slogan: Farming is Our Pride

FCT, Abuja

Minister: Muhammad Musa Bello
Slogan: Centre of Unity.

The Author

Maduawuchi Obialo

Maduawuchi Obialo is the founder of Nigerian Guide and an Editor at Nigerian Infopedia. He is a professional Web Content Developer and a Biochemist.


Add a Comment
  1. Thank you

  2. Thanks
    May God continue to bless you

  3. Thank you very much may the Lord increase your wisdom in the name of Jesus Amen.

  4. Thank you may God establish your knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *