Major Types Of Trade Unions In Nigeria & Their Affiliates

The major types of trade unions in Nigeria currently in this year 2023, and their affiliates, will be covered in this article. The purpose of trade unions in Nigeria today is to safeguard, uphold, and advance the rights of the working class. These unions represent the interests of the people who make up a given profession or sector. There are several trade unions in Nigeria for different professions, however they are all grouped under two main categories namely: the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC), and we will elaborate on both below.

Top 10 Most Powerful Trade Unions In Nigeria


The following are the major types of trade unions in Nigeria and their affiliates this 2023:


The Nigeria Labour Congress was created in 1978 by the merger of four different organizations (NLC) It is one of the two main trade unions in Nigeria, under which all other unions are grouped. The NLC’s mission is to safeguard, uphold, and advance the rights, welfare, and interests of Nigeria’s working class. The NLC is the biggest labour organization in Africa, representing 4 million working professionals across its more than 40 affiliate unions. Wahab Goodluck served as the NLC’s first president. Past NLC presidents include Hassan Sunmonu, Ali Chiroma, Pascal Bafya, Adams Oshiomole, and Abdulwaheed Omar. Assuming the role in 2005, Ayuba Wabba is the current president of the NLC.

The following are the unions affiliated with the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in Nigeria today:

  • Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP)
  • Academic Staff Union of Research Institutions (ASURI)
  • Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU)
  • Agricultural and Allied Employees’ Union of Nigeria (AAEUN)
  • Amalgamated Union of Public Corporation, Civil Service Technical and Recreational Services Employees (AUPCTRE)
  • Colleges of Education Academic Staff Union (COEASU)
  • Iron and Steel Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (ISSSAN)
  • Judicial Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN)
  • Maritime Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MWUN)
  • Medical and Health Workers’ Union of Nigeria (MHWUN)
  • Metal Products Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (MEPROSSAN)
  • National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT)
  • National Association of Nigeria Nurses and Midwives (NANNM)
  • National Union of Air Transport Employees (NUATE)
  • National Union of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institution Employees (NUBIFIE)
  • National Union of Chemical, Footwear, Rubber, Leather and Non-Metallic Employees (NUCFRLANMPE)
  • National Union of Civil Engineering, Construction, Furniture, and Wood Workers (NUCECFWW)
  • National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE)
  • National Union of Food, Beverage and Tobacco Employees (NUFBTE)
  • National Union of Hotels and Personal Services Workers (NUHPSW)
  • National Union of Lottery Agents and Employees (NULAE)
  • National Union of Postal and Telecommunication Employees (NUPTE)
  • National Union of Printing, Publishing, and Paper Products Workers (NUPPPPROW)
  • National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW)
  • National Union of Shop and Distributive Employees (NUSDE)
  • National Union of Textile, Garment and Tailoring Workers of Nigeria (NUTGTWN)
  • Nigeria Civil Service Union (NCSU )
  • Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ)
  • Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE)
  • Nigeria Union of Mine Workers (NUMW)
  • Nigeria Union of Pensioners (NUP)
  • Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG)
  • Nigeria Union of Public Service Reportorial, Secretarial, Data Processors and Allied Workers (NUPSRSDAW)
  • Nigeria Union of Railwaymen (NUR)
  • Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT)
  • Nigeria Welders’ and Filters’ Association (NIWELFU)
  • Non-Academic Staff Union of Educational and Associated Institutions (NASU)
  • Parliamentary Staff Association of Nigeria (PASAN)
  • Radio, Television, Theatre and Arts Workers’ Union (RATTAWU)
  • Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Polytechnics (SSANIP)
  • Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU)
  • Senior Staff Union of Colleges of Education in Nigeria (SSUCOEN)
  • Steel and Engineering Workers’ Union of Nigeria (SEWUN).


The Trade Union Congress (TUC) was officially recognized as a labour union on August 8, 2005. One of the two main trade union coalitions in Nigeria, the Trade Union Congress, acts as an umbrella organization for several other unions around the country. TUC works to improve the standard of living for the working population, as well as their income and ensure that all employees of connected unions are united, regardless of their political views, gender, place of origin, or religion. An associate of the global Trade Unions Confederation is to TUC (ITUC). The Trade Union Congress now counts 32 unions as members. Presently serving as the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria’s president is Mr. Festus Osifo.

The following are the unions currently affiliated with the Trade Union Congress (TUC):

  • Anacowa Motor Cycle Owners And Riders Association
  • Academic Staff Union of Secondary Schools (ASUSS)
  • Association of Freight and Heavy Goods Carriers of Nigeria (AFHGCN)
  • Association of Senior Civil Servants of Nigeria (ASCSN)
  • Association of Senior Staff of Banks, Insurance and Financial Institutions (ASSBIFI)
  • Air Transport Services Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (ATSSSAN)
  • Automobile Boatyard, Transport, Equipment and Allied Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (AUTOBATE)
  • Chemical and Non-metallic Products Senior Staff Association (CANMPSSA)
  • Food, Beverage and Tobacco Senior Staff Association (FOBTOB)
  • Construction and Civil Engineering Senior Staff Association (CCESSA)
  • Footwear, Leather and Rubber Products Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (FWLRPSSA)
  • Hotel and Personal Services Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (HAPSSSA)
  • Nigeria Merchant Navy Officer And Water Transport Senior Staff Association (NMNOWTSSA)
  • Nigeria Union of Allied Health Professions (NUAHP), (Formerly NUPMTPAM)
  • Petroleum And Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASSAN)
  • Precision Electrical and Related Equipment Senior Staff Association (PERESSA)
  • Pulp, Paper and Paper Products, Printing and Publishing Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PPAPPPPSSA)
  • Shop And Distributive Trade Senior Staff Association (SHOPDIS)
  • Senior Staff Association of Statutory Corporations Government Owned Companies (SSASSCGOC) (Formerly Known as SSACTAC)
  • Senior Staff Association Of Universities, Teaching Hospital, Research, and Associated Institutions (SSAUTHRIAI)
  • Textile, Garments and Tailoring Senior Staff Association Of Nigeria (TGTSSAN)
  • Senior Staff Association Of Shipping, Clearing And Forwarding Agencies (SSASCFA)
  • Senior Staff Association Of Electricity and Allied Companies (SSEA&AC)
  • National Association Of Nigerian Professional Footballers (NANPF)
  • Tricycle Owners Association of Nigeria (TOAN)
  • National Association of Community Health Practitioners (NACHPN)
  • Union of Tipper & Quarry Employers Of Nigeria (UTQEN)
  • National Towing Vehicle Owners Association (NTVOA)
  • Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria (RTEAN)
  • Professional E-hailing Drivers and Private Owners Association(PEDPA)
  • Association of Erectors, Riggers and Scaffolders of Nigeria (AERSON)
  • Ifesowapo National Tipper and Ajeboro Transport Association of Nigeria (ILASTATA).

The Author

Maduawuchi Obialo

Maduawuchi Obialo is the founder of Nigerian Guide and the Editor-in-Chief at Nigerian Infopedia. He is a professional Web Content Developer and a Biochemist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *