Kwara State University Courses: The Official Current List

This article is about the official current (2023) list of all accredited courses offered at Kwara State University, Malete, a State University funded by the Government of Kwara State.

Kwara State University Courses: The Official Current List


Kwara State University, widely regarded as KWASU, is located in Nigeria’s South-West geopolitical zone and it is accredited by the Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC), the 77th University to be accredited and the 95th to be recognized in Nigeria.

As is the case with many tertiary institutions in the country, you should be informed that the universal cut-off mark or cut-off point for admission into Kwara State University is 180, however, the departmental cut-off marks differ. Prospective students seeking admission into KWASU tend to need clarity on the courses offered at the school, that is just what this article is all about.

In 2009, under the distinguished leadership of the former Governor, Dr. Bukola Saraki, KWASU was established. The intent of establishing this tertiary institution was to ensure that it stood out as the hub for community service in the South-West of Nigeria via the courses offered. The higher institution of learning also set out to raise a generation of students who would be well rounded in entrepreneurship as well.

The buzz surrounding the establishment of KWASU gained momentum in November 1990 and by the year 2002, talk of converting the former Kwara State Polytechnic into a university by a former Governor of the State, Alhaji Mohammed Alabi gained wide acceptance.

This brought about the need to change the list of courses offered at Kwara State University from that of a polytechnic to that of a standard varsity. Amid much optimism the change from Kwara State Polytechnic to a full-fledged university was effected, giving birth to the State’s owned varsity.

On July 11, 2007, former Governor of Kwara State, Bukola Saraki, inaugurated a Planning Committee overseen by another erstwhile Governor, Alhaji Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi to ensure that the establishment of the State University was properly executed.

The Bill for the establishment of KWASU was signed into law on December 24, 2008 and on February 9, 2009, the certificate and instrument to operate the university was obtained from the National Universities Commission (NUC), effectively signalling the birth of the new university.

On its commencement of operations as a full-fledged university, Professor Abdul Rasheed Na’Allah was appointed Pioneer Vice Chancellor. Before his appointment, he was Chair of the African-American Studies Department at the Western Illinois University, Macomb, USA. His appointment as VC commenced on July 28, 2009.

KWASU operates from its main campus and administrative headquarters in Malete, Kwara State, with two other campuses located in Ilesha-Baruba and Osi-Opin.

The Malete campus houses the College of Pure and Applied Sciences, College of Information and Communication Technology, and the College of Education. The Osi-Opin campus houses the Colleges of Engineering, Humanities, Management and the Baruba Campus houses the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

Prospective students looking to enrol into KWASU to study any of their courses offered should do well to score at least 200 in the Unified Tertiary Matriculations Examination, UTME organized by the Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board, JAMB.

As earlier stated, the cut-off mark at KWASU ranges from 180-200 depending on the course applied for. Prospective students are also advised to get at least 5 credits in their Senior School Certificate Examination (WAEC and/or NECO).

This will stand you in good stead to be considered for admission at the school. While the benchmark for consideration of admission into the school is 180 or 200 as earlier stated, you should take note that the figures vary from department to department as some courses are more competitive than the others.

The advice to any prospective student is to try as much as possible to score very high in your UTME and repeat the same thing in your post UTME and you are good to go.


Below are the courses and departments at the Kwara State University this 2023:

  • Accounting
  • Actuarial Science
  • Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
  • Agriculture
  • Agricultural Economics and Extension Services
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Animal Production, Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • Arabic Studies
  • Biochemistry
  • Business Administration
  • Business And Entrepreneurship Studies
  • Business Education
  • Chemistry
  • Christian Studies
  • Civil Engineering
  • Crop Production
  • Computer Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Early Childhood and Primary Education
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Economics
  • Education and Science
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Electrical / Electronic Engineering
  • English and Literary Studies
  • English Language
  • Fisheries
  • Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
  • Food Science and Technology
  • French
  • Geography
  • Geology and Mineral Science
  • History and International Relation
  • Hospitality And Tourism
  • Human Kinetics
  • Islamic Studies
  • Languages and Linguistics
  • Library and Information Science
  • Linguistics
  • Mass Communication
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Microbiology
  • Performing Arts
  • Physics / Material Science
  • Plant Biology
  • Political Science and Public Administration
  • Sociology
  • Special Education
  • Statistics
  • Zoology

The Author

Maduawuchi Obialo

Maduawuchi Obialo is the founder of Nigerian Guide and the Editor-in-Chief at Nigerian Infopedia. He is a professional Web Content Developer and a Biochemist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *