Full List Of All Universities In Nasarawa State (2023)

This article contains a complete list of all universities in Nasarawa State as of 2023. Nasarawa State is one of the northern States in Nigeria and it is located near Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory. The State is one of the most educated in the northern part of the country, with five universities, one of which is a federal university, the other which is a State university, and yet another three which are private universities.

Full List Of All Universities In Nasarawa State

The following are the various universities in Nasarawa State, which will be examined in depth as we proceed:

  • Federal University, Lafia (FULAFIA) – Federal University
  • Nasarawa State University Keffi (NSUK) – State University
  • Bingham University, Karu- Private University
  • Ave Maria University, Piyanko – Private University
  • Mewar International University, Masaka – Private University.


Below is the full list of all universities located in Nasarawa State this 2023:


The Federal University Lafia and the other eight federal Universities established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in 2011 are its response to the need for rapid socio-economic transformation as well as addressing issues of access and equity. The Federal University Lafia commenced academic activities on a takeoff site on Obi Road, Lafia at the erstwhile State Secretariat Complex donated by the Nasarawa State Government.

There were enough buildings and structures on the site that served as offices and classrooms, existing structures were renovated and more structures were put in place before the commencement of academic activities. The university began moving to its permanent site in 2015, which is on a 206 hectares of along the Lafia-Markurdi Road in Lafia provided by the Nasarawa State Government. By 2018, the central administration and all faculties, except two, had moved to the permanent site of the University.

The address of the University is: Federal University Lafia P.M.B. 146, Lafia Nasarawa State Nigeria. On June 20, 2019, the name of the University was changed to Federal University of Lafia by the Governing Council. The correction was based on the Gazette of Federal University Lafia (Establishment) Act 2015 which amended the name of the University. The Proprietor of the Federal University Lafia is the Federal Government of Nigeria. While the Visitor is His Excellency, the President and Commander In Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.


Nasarawa State University is located in the Nigerian town of Keffi. Nasarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK) is a tertiary institution established to promote the advancement of learning in the State and its surrounding communities. NSUK was founded in February 2002 in the former College of Arts, Science and Technology (CAST), Keffi, under Nasarawa State Law No. 2 of 2001, which was ratified by the State House of Assembly under the first democratically elected Governor of Nasarawa State, Governor (Dr.) Abdullahi Adamu.

It was founded with the primary goal of providing Nasarawa State residents with the opportunity to pursue and obtain tertiary education. Located in the town of Keffi. Full-time and part-time students are accommodated at Nasarawa State University. Under the department of Business Administration, the university has a Post Graduate Faculty that offers a Masters in Business Administration (MBA).


Bingham University located in Karu, Nasarawa State, 25 kilometres from the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria, Abuja, was established in 2005 by the Evangelical Church Winning All (ECWA) as a Conventional University. It is one of the private universities in located in the northern part of the country.

The main purpose of ECWA was to meet the daring need for high quality Secular Education which recognises and integrates the moral and spiritual values on which the Christian faith is founded as well as focuses on entrepreneurial studies in order to promote self-reliance among graduates of the University.

The university has had four (4) Vice Chancellors since inception. The Pioneer Vice Chancellor was Professor Aaron Gana of blessed memory from 2006 – 2017. He was succeeded by Professor Felix I. Anjorin also of blessed memory, from 2007 – 2013. The third Vice Chancellor was Professor Leonard Kursim Fwa from 2013 – 2017, while the fourth Vice Chancellor is Professor Williams Barnabas Qurix, 2018 onward.


Ave Maria University, Piyanko (AMU) is a catholic private university located in the urban setting of the city of Piyanko in Nasarawa State. Ave Maria University is founded by the Ave Maria Foundation, which has been a key player in education sector of Nigeria, operating the Ave Maria group of schools (Ave Maria Nursery and Primary school Nyanya, Abuja. Ave Maria Nursery and Primary school Mararaba, Nasarawa State. Ave Maria Boys secondary school Nyanya, Abuja. Ave Maria Girls secondary school Jikwoyi, Abuja. Ave Maria Day secondary school, Mararaba, Nasarawa State.

Ave Maria University, Pyanko offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized degrees in various areas of study. Arts, Humanities, Social and Management Science and Basic Science. Ave Maria University also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including library service, housing, sports facilities, exchange programs, online courses, distance learning opportunities, as well as administrative services.


Mewar International University (MIU) Nigeria, the first Indian University in Africa is established to accelerate the motion of skill oriented international quality education. MIU Nigeria with ingenuity and drive, wants its future graduates to invent innovations, launch new industries, cater to the public health in all walks of life, manage businesses, be the leading law makers and create millions of jobs all across Africa. At the same time, and without the slightest sense of contradiction, MIU is profoundly a truly global University with its core essence hailing from the roots of lands of Maharajas, the Mewar Region of India where its academic advisory institution the Mewar Group of Institutions, for the past three decades has been providing truly affordable quality education to youth hailing from all across the world under the mission of reaching to the unreached.

MIU Nigeria brings a blend of new and innovative cutting-edge education pedagogy, situated in a surreal natural atmosphere spread across area of hundreds of acres of land, next to the metropolitan Federal Capital Territory Abuja, at the border of Abuja and Nasarawa State enabling Nigerian youth from all across the nation to reach to the campus conveniently.

MIU at its academic core provides a platform for its students to be mentored by one of the best minds from across the globe while to build their non-curricular persona, the university offers a wide range of opportunities such as International Exchange programs & Internships, International Language Classes, special addon lectures and training by leading Industries and leaders, active sports activities on campus such as swimming, cricket, squash, football, horse-riding, boating, tennis & many more.

The Author

Maduawuchi Obialo

Maduawuchi Obialo is the founder of Nigerian Guide and the Editor-in-Chief at Nigerian Infopedia. He is a professional Web Content Developer and a Biochemist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *